

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 2353/52 - 2023 ඔක්තෝබර් මස 11 වැනි බදාදා - 2023.10.11 No. 2353/52 - WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 11, 2023

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

Filling of a Vacancy Under Paragraph 13 (b) of Article 99 of the Constitution of The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

WHEREAS, the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64 (1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Ninth Parliament by reason of ceasing to be a Member of Parliament of Mr. Ahamed Zainulabdeen Nazeer, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 12 - Batticaloa under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act;

And whereas the Returning Officer, for the Electoral District which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 to fill this vacancy as provided for under paragraph 13 (b) of Article 99 of the Constitution;

And whereas, the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 and in terms of paragraph 13 (b) of Article 99 of the Constitution has made a return in form "M" set out in the first Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that Mr. Ali Zahir Moulana Seiyad was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said Electoral District and has submitted the report to the Election Commission;



2A

Now therefore, We the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64 (2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, do hereby notify the general public that Mr. Ali Zahir Moulana Seiyad has been declared elected as a Member of the Ninth Parliament for the Electoral District No. 12 - Batticaloa to fill the vacancy caused by reason of ceasing to be a Member of Parliament of Mr. Ahamed Zainulabdeen Nazeer.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE, Chairman, Election Commission. M. A. P. C. PERERA, Member, Election Commission.

AMEER FAAIZ, Member, Election Commission. Anusuya Shanmuganathan, Member, Election Commission.

Election Commission, Rajagiriya, 11th October, 2023.

EOG 10-0137